Christian Reggae Bands

So you love reggae music. You think the rhythmic waves and laid back feel with positive lyrics is something irresistible. Growing up listening to people like Matisyahu, Michael Franti, Gym Class Heroes, Shaggy, Bob Marley, Peter Tosh, Sean Paul, and some Sean Kingston, you’ve been filled with multiple top-of-the-line songs in this genre. Just to clear something up, I don’t believe in the current genre categories. I believe there’s multiple different types of music within every genre, and it’s not fair to categorize an artist with other artists just because some certain aspect of his music is similar. This is like calling all music with Christian lyrics part of the Christian/Gospel genre. Do you really think MyChildrenMyBride and Britt Nicole should be put into the same genre? Well, they are on iTunes! This is an issue I hope to reveal to people through this blog and through my work in the industry. That being said, I classify all of the artists mentioned above (besides MyChildrenMyBride and Britt Nicole) as part of the broad reggae genre, but unique in their own respective way.

Moving along from that tangent, for those of you searching for some Christian music in the reggae genre, I’m here to supply you with some great bands to start with. Let’s start off with Dominic Balli. I used to live in Santa Barbara, California, and Dominic Balli went to the same church as me: Reality. Sometimes we would even get lucky enough for him to lead worship for the church. Mr. Balli has a heart for the lord and it is evident in every song he writes. His music is really the closest to the “Reggae” style you will find in the Christian industry. “Take My Love” is one of his songs that contains an excellent representation of what you should expect (see also, “See What We Become”). If you want to get into a more precise genre of reggae Christian music, then Dominic Balli is the guy for you.

One of the most important elements of the reggae genre is a homegrown, creation-loving feel. If you’re looking for a positive, fun-filled feel, then you need to listen to Rootdown. Lead singer Paul Wright is a Eugene, Oregon native who has a spectacular way of taking the little things in life and making them the most interesting. For example, in the song “Burrito Boy” we get a snippet of his love for Mexican food in a whole in the wall place. In “From Sunrise to Sunset,” Paul Wright shows his love for creation and his never-ending dedication to the one who created it all. While you may not consider their style of music to be “reggae,” it contains multiple elements of the genre. With a lack of Christian artists in this particular genre, I’d say this band fits into the genre the best. If you’re looking for an even closer reggae feel, listen to their song, “All I Wanna Do.”

My favorite artist in the Christian Music Industry that I would say fits into the reggae genre is CoastalRise. CoastalRise has an indie, garage-band type feel, yet their sound is completely unique. “Children of the Light” and “Lovely Avenue” both have a reggae feel to them. If you go to their concerts, you’ll have an experience that brings you memories of waves and beaches. Lead singers Brenna Carnuccio and Timmy Whiting create a duo feel that enraptures the audience in a strikingly unique way. Recently, they’ve been working on a new record that should really define them more as an artist. Be sure to give their album “Call of the Sea” a listen and be on the lookout for their new music to come.

Hopefully this article gave you some insight into some artists that suit your interest in the reggae genre. Obviously there are other, more popular artists such as Bob Marley that may be considered Christian, but this list is here to help you find new, more recent artists. Please let me know if you know of any others or would like to find out about other genres of music. A great resource for finding artists in their respective genres is JesusRock.Net’s genre page. They break down the genres into sub-genres to help you get the kind of music you’re really looking for.

Obviously it’s been a while since I’ve posted my last article. I’d like to be posting more but currently my time has been spent on application to law school to continue my pursuit of becoming a lawyer in the Christian Music Industry. I will continue to post articles as often as I can. Thanks!

4 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Excellent article. God bless you.

    Like

  2. Very nice site…..It really is.I plan on, God willing, setting up my own WordPress.site for the Lord (Jesus).I’m sure it will be different because of my age and background etc. but we’ll have our similarities of course being that we’re both headed to that same new world.A world where there is no more evil, sin or spiritual darkness.
    Just so you know I found your site via Facebook because when I get the chance to do so and loving all things music like I do I enjoy exploring music ( Christian & secular) related sites etc.
    In a world that’s hard of hearing…may God bless you mightily with His love and may He give you wisdom so that your witness for Him will be most effective wherever His Spirit leads.
    Your brother in Christ Jesus,
    David

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for the feedback! I didn’t realize people were still reading my articles. This has prompted me to start writing more so i appreciate it! When you get that blog up and running, send me the link, I’d be super happy to check it out. Also, if you’re looking for more information into Christian bands, I have a website: http://www.jesusrock.net. It promotes Christian bands and lets you search for bands by genre. Thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Checkt out this – Alpha Blondy – Come Back Jesus !!!

    Like

Leave a comment